[Logo] TCC discussion forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Top Downloads] Top Downloads   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register /  [Login] Login 

Any examples on how to use RuntimeList in an Arduino project? RSS feed
Forum Index » tcMenu Arduinio library
Author Message
Lee_X


Joined: Apr 29, 2022
Messages: 22
Offline
Hi, I need one of the menu option to display a list which can be changed at runtime. I see we need to use RuntimeList but I could not find a fully working example for this.

Are there any Arduino example projects for this? I am really struggling while going through the various docs without example projects that showcase the whole library at once. As far as I can see we only get examples of menus, not complete Arduino projects which would be way more helpful.

Am I missing something?

Thanks a lot
Lee_X


Joined: Apr 29, 2022
Messages: 22
Offline
ok maybe I found it. Finally managed to get the examples running thanks.
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 628
Offline
Firstly, please understand that this is an open-source project, there will be gaps, and there will be times you'll need to do a little digging.

There are a lot of examples and they are tested by me and many other people with every release that is made, although they should come up if your hardware matches and be easily modifiable if not, and between them, they demonstrate the vast majority of features.

Runtime lists (and custom choice items) are demonstrated in many examples, EspAmplifier may be the most complete in terms of how they are used. They are also documented here: http://thecoderscorner.com/products/arduino-libraries/tc-menu/menu-item-types/list-menu-item/

Lee_X


Joined: Apr 29, 2022
Messages: 22
Offline
thanks Dave.

For some reasons the ESP32Amplifier example did not compile for me but I am successfully running the "dynamicMenuItems" example.

All works but when I get to the runtime List (e.g. the "Food List") my encoder is not selecting anything other than row 0 or the title, i.e. I cannot use the encoder to navigate the list. The encoder works perfectly otherwise.

Is this a bug? Can you replicate it?

Thanks again
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 628
Offline
If you're on ESP32-S2, there are some known issues at the moment. After I get 2.3 of the designer out my plan is to go back and add proper support for ESP32-S2.

Up until recently some popular display libraries did not work well with them either and there wasn't much demand. Now that seems to be changing. I have a device to hand so it is just time..

There is a bug with lists that have only 1 item in 2.2, it is fixed in 2.3 which is about a week or so away.

Unfortunately, all my lists so far had many items so I didn't notice this bug.
Lee_X


Joined: Apr 29, 2022
Messages: 22
Offline
great to know that version 2.3 is almost out. Absolutely love TC Menu!

Just for clarity, you mention that you never noticed this bug because all your lists have many items but so do my lists. The issue is that my encoder on ESP32-S2 does not select any items other than the one at the very top. Which is so strange because everything else in all other menus works perfectly.

Can you confirm your rotary encoder works as intended in 2.2 with "dynamicMenuItems" using ESP32 / ESP32-S2, i.e. it scrolls through all the items in the "Food List" and allow you to select any of them?
Lee_X


Joined: Apr 29, 2022
Messages: 22
Offline
Hi Dave

Can you please let me know if the "dynamicMenuItems" works correctly with you in the "Food List" page? Are you able to navigate the list?

I'm still stuck at the top item (rotary encoder is not working on that page) and I need to find a solution somehow because I need to display a dynamic list and select one of the items


Pls let me know thanks!
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 628
Offline
One of the issues with lists in 2.2 was around selection. In 2.2 we focused (too much) during testing on touch screens (as they were pretty new at that point), and in all honesty, list items on an encoder did not work that well in 2.2.

In 2.3 I've tested different sizes of list in greater detail and they all seem to work. I'm starting the release testing now on 2.3 and will ensure that lists are stable in all cases.
Lee_X


Joined: Apr 29, 2022
Messages: 22
Offline
Thanks Dave, is 2.3 stable enough for me to try and test as well?
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 628
Offline
The library should be in a good state now, I am testing it already, for what you want it may be better than 2.2. You'd just need to take a zip of the latest from GitHub.

Lee_X


Joined: Apr 29, 2022
Messages: 22
Offline
Sorry Dave could not find a Mac release for 2.3. Can you point me to one?

I only still see 2.27 on GitHub
Lee_X


Joined: Apr 29, 2022
Messages: 22
Offline
ok, found the source but I have no chance of running it. Any chance you can make a Mac build for this?

another option would be to have something that can be run like this

java -jar tcMenuDesigner2.3.jar


Thanks!
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 628
Offline
Once we've done a bit more testing we'll release the mac version for the beta. It takes a bit of effort to notarize and sign the executables so I'll make sure it passes a smoke test first.

You could use the latest version of tcMenuLib library from GitHub without any problems. Just backup your current version and pull down the latest from there. It's the library that is causing the problem here and it should work fine with 2.2 designer for now.
Lee_X


Joined: Apr 29, 2022
Messages: 22
Offline
thanks Dave
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 628
Offline
I've actually got a couple of hours in and tested IoAbstraction and tcMenu library on all platforms, they will be in Arduino library manager and platformIO next time they poll.

The 2.3 UI has a lot of fixes in it too and will follow soon.
 
Forum Index » tcMenu Arduinio library
Go to:   
Mobile view
Powered by JForum 2.7.0 © 2020 JForum Team • Maintained by Andowson Chang and Ulf Dittmer

This site uses cookies to analyse traffic, serve ads by Google AdSense (non-personalized in EEA/UK), and to record consent. We also embed Twitter, Youtube and Disqus content on some pages, these companies have their own privacy policies.

Our privacy policy applies to all pages on our site

Should you need further guidance on how to proceed: External link for information about cookie management.