[Logo] TCC discussion forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Top Downloads] Top Downloads   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register /  [Login] Login 


This forum is read only and new users cannot register, please ask all new questions either using GitHub discussions, or in Arduino forum tagging @davetcc.

Logarithmic scale in AnalogItem RSS feed
Forum Index » tcMenu Arduinio library
Author Message
pruttelherrie


Joined: Oct 21, 2020
Messages: 24
Offline
Is it possible to have a scaling with a logarithmic "feel" to it? I have an AnalogMenuItem for a LFO speed in Hz, in an audio application. Now I have to choose between either small steps or not enough resolution in the lower part of the range.

I assume it is possible to overload the display function for the value so I get a kind of mapping, but I have no idea where to start or where to look.
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 686
Offline
We’ve mainly done this with dB for audio purposes so that the display scale looks linear. But beyond that I don’t think we’ve really considered anything else. Would something like that not work here? The other option would be to use a large number.
pruttelherrie


Joined: Oct 21, 2020
Messages: 24
Offline
I guess that would work, but isn't that the other way around? As in: the dB scale is linear, but the amplification has to be calculated from that display value.

Is there example code for the dB menu?
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 686
Offline
Yes, the ESPAmplifer or many of the other examples have a scale in dB. The dB scale is essentially presented completely as linear, but the calculations are done by a volume control IC, such as a PGA2310 which accurately increases volume in steps of 0.5dB. So the non-linearity of the scale is handled there (I suspect using a table in the IC).

If you needed to do the calculation yourself, would you not just do the math (or provide a table of values) to convert the display units into actual units.

Maybe I am oversimplifying here. But let us say you had 255 steps in your menu item, something like this may be the simplest approach:

const uint32_t valueToActualMap[256] = {.......}; // populated with your values, ensure it's stored in flash by using PROGMEM if needed 

void onMenuItemChanged(int /*id*/) {
   int val = menuItem.getCurrentValue(); // returns between 0 and 255
   uint32_t corrected = volumeToActualMap[val];
   // do something here with corrected
}


The other option would be to use an editable large number, which can handle values of huge range, up to 12 significant figures, with up to 9 of those being the whole part. You can read about those here: https://www.thecoderscorner.com/products/arduino-libraries/tc-menu/menu-item-types/largenum-menu-item/

pruttelherrie


Joined: Oct 21, 2020
Messages: 24
Offline
Ok, clear.

But is it possible to "transform"/correct the value of an AnalogMenuItem before it gets displayed? So the internal value goes linear, but it is put through a function before being displayed.
davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 686
Offline
I think that I would do this for now with a scroll choice item. You can move them up and down in value and although it seems odd to use what's essentially a choice element for this, you could for example provide 255 choices using the custom render function option, with your own text and value for each one. Take a look at the scroll choice guide and see what you think. That would work right now, with tcMenu 1.7 out of the box.

https://www.thecoderscorner.com/products/arduino-libraries/tc-menu/menu-item-types/scrollchoice-menu-item/

EDIT: just to reiterate I'm not talking about using the memory or eeprom array option, I'm talking about using the custom function option, where you'd be called back whenever a values was needed, or when it was selected. The above guide goes through this option in the section "Custom rendering option".
pruttelherrie


Joined: Oct 21, 2020
Messages: 24
Offline
Yes, works perfectly!

Now I got to find the correct function to transform 0-255 to sane values for the LFO but the interface now works as I want it to.

Weird thing though, the (Linux) Designer creates 2 callbacks in the .ino file, of which the first one is not used:

// see tcMenu list documentation on thecoderscorner.com
int CALLBACK_FUNCTION fnLFO1SpeedLogRtCall(RuntimeMenuItem* item, uint8_t row, RenderFnMode mode, char* buffer, int bufferSize) {
   switch(mode) {
    case RENDERFN_INVOKE:
        // TODO - your code to invoke goes here - row is the index of the item
        return true;
    case RENDERFN_NAME:
        // TODO - each row has it's own name - 0xff is the parent item
        ltoaClrBuff(buffer, row, 3, NOT_PADDED, bufferSize);
        return true;
    case RENDERFN_VALUE:
        // TODO - each row can has its own value - 0xff is the parent item
        buffer[0] = 'V'; buffer[1]=0;
        fastltoa(buffer, row, 3, NOT_PADDED, bufferSize);
        return true;
    case RENDERFN_EEPROM_POS: return 0xffff; // lists are generally not saved to EEPROM
    default: return false;
    }
}


// see tcMenu list documentation on thecoderscorner.com
int CALLBACK_FUNCTION fnLFO1SpeedlogRtCall(RuntimeMenuItem* item, uint8_t row, RenderFnMode mode, char* buffer, int bufferSize) {
   switch(mode) {
    case RENDERFN_INVOKE:
        // TODO - your code to invoke goes here - row is the index of the item
        return true;
    case RENDERFN_NAME:
        // TODO - each row has it's own name - 0xff is the parent item
        ltoaClrBuff(buffer, row, 3, NOT_PADDED, bufferSize);
        return true;
    case RENDERFN_VALUE:
        // TODO - each row can has its own value - 0xff is the parent item
        buffer[0] = 'V'; buffer[1]=0;
        fastltoa(buffer, row, 3, NOT_PADDED, bufferSize);
        return true;
    case RENDERFN_EEPROM_POS: return 0xffff; // lists are generally not saved to EEPROM
    default: return false;
    }
}


See the uppercase L in the first function name. I doublechecked it's not used elsewhere in the menu so I just deleted this function and it works.

davetcc


Joined: Jan 19, 2019
Messages: 686
Offline
Could you send me emf file for that. Feel free to PM it to me if you wish. I’ll take a look at it on our Linux box.
 
Forum Index » tcMenu Arduinio library
Go to:   
Mobile view
Powered by JForum 2.7.0 © 2020 JForum Team • Maintained by Andowson Chang and Ulf Dittmer

This site uses cookies to analyse traffic, serve ads by Google AdSense (non-personalized in EEA/UK), and to record consent. We also embed Twitter, Youtube and Disqus content on some pages, these companies have their own privacy policies.

Our privacy policy applies to all pages on our site

Should you need further guidance on how to proceed: External link for information about cookie management.